We’re committed to providing an accessible and inclusive website anyone can use.

Making myGov easy to use

We want myGov to be accessible and inclusive. This means everyone should be able to use it, no matter their device, browser of choice, or ability.

You should be able to:

  • understand the text and find information you need
  • change colours, contrast and fonts
  • magnify the page
  • navigate most of the website using only your keyboard or speech recognition software
  • listen to most of the website using a screen reader.

We’re always improving myGov and exploring ways to make it easier for you.

How we support accessibility

Accessibility is an important part of our mission statement. Our staff have clear guidelines and responsibilities. They are supported by policies, training and quality assurance processes.


You can use myGov with the latest version of these browsers:

  • Firefox
  • Google Chrome
  • Microsoft Edge
  • Safari.

You can’t use myGov with:

  • Internet Explorer 10 and 11
  • old versions of internet browsers.

Assistive technology

You can use myGov with:

  • major internet browsers’ zoom functions, up to 400%
  • screen magnifiers.

You can also use myGov with screen readers, including:

  • JAWS, NVDA and Windows Narrator for Windows desktop
  • VoiceOver for Mac desktop, iPhone and iPad
  • TalkBack for android phones.

Meeting web standards

We design myGov to meet Australian Government standards.

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) defines requirements for designers and developers to make digital content accessible for people with disability. It defines 3 levels of conformance: Level A, Level AA, and Level AAA. We aim to meet WCAG version 2.1 level AA at a minimum. You can learn more about WCAG on the Web Accessibility Initiative website.

Improving myGov is our ongoing commitment. We’re continually making updates to myGov so it meets WCAG 2.1 level AA, and AAA where possible.

We also base the design and features of myGov on research. To make sure the site is accessible and user friendly, we follow the Digital Transformation Agency’s:

Page last updated: 22 January 2024